Politicians are more responsible than individuals for the protection of the environment

Man has survived and progressed at the expense of the environment. For past centuries, man has exploited natural resources and have depleted them. Burning fossil fuels, releasing harmful pollutants in the air, water, and land, and lumbering trees are a few examples of how man has harmed Mother Nature. Now the question arises who is responsible for this condition? I think both politicians and commoners are responsible for it. Government should enforce strict policies to protect the environment. They should keep industries under surveillance. However, even if the authority implements strict rules and regulations, they are violated sometimes. Government officials who are supposed to ensure the proper functioning of these rules can indulge in dishonest means. Such improper functioning on the part of the officials further exacerbates the problems. On the contrary, it is also the responsibility of people to abide by the rules made by the government. Harmful gases released from vehicles are one of the causes of air pollution. In the past several alternatives have been suggested to reduce the release of toxic gases from car exhausts. For example, carpooling, using public transports, and e-bicycles are some of the substitutes. Nevertheless, these alternatives are currently mere suggestions and are not in use. Although the government has also imposed a ban on plastics, people continue to use these products. The problem is plastic is a cheap and durable material. Moreover, current alternatives are either more expensive or not good enough. I think if authorities and people start working together, we can curb pollution. Nevertheless, we can protect the environment from the long-term damages that will otherwise haunt our future generations.