Hosting an international sports event can be a fantastic experience for a country, bringing great opportunities for almost all aspects of a country’s life, thus creating an indeed positive image of such undertakings

Hosting an international sports event can be a fantastic experience for a country, bringing great opportunities for almost all aspects of a country’s life, thus creating an indeed positive image of such undertakings. On the other hand, hosting international championships might be viewed as a quite undesirable event for a country and sometimes rightly so. I believe the answer to this statement strongly depends on the country in question and its economic, social and political situation. International sports championships are always spectacular events which attract a lot of visitors from around the world. Evidently, the preparation process is quite long and a host country should invest quite a lot of finance, time, knowledge and energy in order to organise everything on an appropriately high level. But despite of this process being so demanding, putting much efforts always pays off – hosting international sports events help boost tourism and hospitality sectors which in their turn impact the overall growth of the economy. Apparently, it is a really beneficial outcome, which is one of the reasons why there are always so many countries willing to bid for international sports events. On the other hand, there exist quite vocal arguments against hosting high-profile sports events. Their point is that the overall cost could be too high for a country, especially if a country in question is a developing one, with ongoing economic issues. It could be argues that in such cases it might be wiser to invest in one’s own social infrastructure, for instance, and to improve the quality of life of one’s own people rather than to spend exorbitant sums on sports entertainment. Obviously, it could be true sometimes. Moreover, there is one more aspect about the right to host such events, which, unfortunately, could appear to be of great importance. It is a well-known notion that sports and politics should be kept separately. On the one hand it is completely true, on the other hand, the right to host international sports events cannot be granted to a country the government of which violates human rights, denies its citizens basic freedoms and severely persecutes its political opponents as it can be perceived as an international recognition of this criminal way of ruling a country. Taking into consideration everything mentioned above, I would like to conclude that in many cases hosting an international sports event can be truly beneficial for a country. At the same time it is always necessary to bear in mind other factors and their impact on a prospective host-country and on an event itself.