Please tell us something about yourself, your experiences, or activities that you believe would reflect positively on your ability to succeed at Penn State. This is your opportunity to tell us something about yourself that is not already reflected in your application or academic records. We suggest a limit of 500 words or fewer.

Colours always fascinated me. I recall being six years old and putting in all I had to make a birthday card, as exquisite as it could be. As a kid, I found joy in the smallest of things, whether it was a mess of paint on my fingers or gluing figures using empty pistachio shells. The wonder trapped in brushstrokes has always enraptured me. However, as I was growing up, something was perturbing me. Since I wanted to be the best, I constantly compared my artwork to that of other students in my class and felt I was not good enough. My self-deprecating behaviour engendered insecurities regarding my passion. Obviously, I did not paint my best as a result of the stress brewing in my mind. Yet, a part of me still clung to the hope that one day I would be the one with the gold medals and the certificates. The glimmer of hope helped me continue, no matter how exhausting it got, whether it was decorating the school stage for an event or participating in art competitions. And thus, that day did arrive. I sat in the auditorium with bated breath as they announced the annual awards. Best Writer, Best Orator, Best Actor… the list went on. However, my ears were tuned to the one that I cared about. “Best Artist” … “Foram Desai” I couldn’t believe what I had heard. The world seemed to pause, just for a moment! The significance of the award was beyond the recognition I had received. It was a boost of confidence that I had forever yearned for. It was reassuring to know that I was indeed talented. Then on, I stopped doubting myself. Ever since I only work hard towards anything, I take up in life without feeling anxious about the outcome. Needless to add, the event was a game-changer. It provided the self-esteem I carry today. And that same confidence is what would help me contribute to the Economics Department at Penn State in the most productive way. I would love to participate and add to the wide range of topics being discussed in the field of Economics to the best of my abilities. While perusing the website, I came across the numerous opportunities available to students. In particular, the research opportunities for the students have caught my attention. I look forward to working with the distinguished faculty to develop my research skills, which will provide a strong foundation for my doctorate journey. After the culmination of my academic journey, I strive to hold a position in the Economics field in the corporate sector, and Penn State is the ideal university to help me achieve that dream