Having more international sporting events such as Olympic Games may promote world peace. with this statement?

International sporting competitions, such as the World Cup or the Olympic Games, bring fans and competitors together but do they always promote positive values and could they potentially be a catalyst for world peace? It is my view that despite some minor issues relating to violence, these events can be extremely useful in promoting positive international relations. It is first necessary to acknowledge that there are, indeed, some issues with these large sporting events. Hooliganism and violence is one such example and recent events at the Euro 2020 football contest highlight this. Soccer seems to be a sport which is plagued by fan violence but I believe that competition organizers are working hard to eradicate this. Despite this issue, I believe that competitions such as the Olympic Games are extremely beneficial when it comes to promoting world peace. The main reason for this is that such competitions are held in different global locations and, as a result, committed fans frequently travel to places they would have never otherwise travelled to. This allows them to experience countries and cultures, learn about traditions and societies and gain a deeper understanding of people around the world. This can surely only have positive effects in the future. The benefits of these competitions do not only apply to the fans. Consider how the competitors themselves benefit from these events as they are exposed to counterparts from other countries and cultures, thus gaining a deeper insight into people they would have never met without such events. I recently watched the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games in Japan and was pleased to see so many countries walking together harmoniously. International sporting events have a few limited issues around violence and inappropriate behaviour by fans. On the whole, however, they allow competitors and supporters to travel and learn about other cultures and, in my view, definitely encourage world peace.