Please explain why you think students find speaking difficult. Please explain clearly and simply, how you would help them to improve their speaking skills. This essay must be no less than 800 words.

There are many factors that can cause learners to undergo terrible difficulties in speaking, especially among EFL learners. Some of these factors are related to the learners themselves and some are external (need more care). Many learners lack the necessary vocabulary to get their meaning across and consequently, they can not keep their interaction going. Another cause is inadequate strategic competence and communication which can be another reason as well for not being able to keep the interaction going. Add to that the large number of learners who lack the motivation to improve English. Actually motivation is the crucial force which determine whether a learner embarks on a task at all, how much energy they devote to it and how long they continue. Another hindrance that makes speaking challenging is the lack of or little confidence. If a learner feels nervous and is afraid of making a mistake while speaking English, then their problem is confidence. Moreover, mispronunciation and stress issues ( word /sentence stress)represent a daunting obstacle for learners. It is vital to communicate properly; because the incorrect use of pronunciation inevitably leads to the message being misunderstood. Anxiety could abstract communication as well, anxiety is a feeling of tension, apprehension and nervousness associated with the situation of learning new things. Students are also constraining their speaking when allowing shyness play a role in their conversation. Shyness is an emotional state that students suffer from sometimes, particularly when they are required to speak in English classes. Listening can surprisingly be a source of problems as well. Remember that when we have a conversation, we are only taking half the time. The other half is spent listening to the other person. If we do not understand what someone is saying, then it is difficult to reply. Reduced forms and colloquial speaking are other difficulties learners experience, that make speaking arduous. Finally, and most importantly, the impact of the mother tongue on the target language can be observed from mere pronunciation to even grammar and vocabulary of the language and that is a normal instinct but what is not acceptable, is students not making any effort to acquire correct articulation, instead, they use the mother tongue in speaking activities, because it is easier and also they feel less exposed when doing so. All of the mentioned is almost certain to be overcome, if real determination exists especially, missing word here those connected to the speakers themselves are more approachable. However, in order to assist the learners improve their speaking skills, I would offer this: firstly, for the lack of vocabulary that students look for sensible practical means to boost their vocabulary. there is a variety of ways to help them achieve a considerably substantial amount of vocabulary in a short time such as: developing reading habits, using the dictionary, using technology, playing word games, using flash cards, subscribing to the word of the day, practising using new words in conversation in addition to changing the learning strategies for more efficient and productive ones that meet the required standards. Secondly, we need to work on the causes of the lack of motivation. With regards to possible ideas to overcome the lack of confidence, I propose that we generate strategies to build the learner's confidence by maximizing their exposure to English. In line with this I confirm that to build confidence: teachers can provide regular opportunities to practise excellent pronunciation and intonation and to converse freely. By doing this, students will experience a greater sense of ability to speak English. Therefore, teachers should create a comfortable atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to talk in English and are praised for talking. Students need to improve their pronunciation with the consideration that there are no shortcuts to perfect pronunciation. However, there are some ways one can practise more effectively and improve their skills faster. For instance: listen to yourself, slow down, picture it and get physical, watch yourself, copy the experts, find a language buddy and pay attention to intonation and stress. If you genuinely want to improve, you have to overcome your fear of speaking English and for that one you need to: choose speaking activities that cause less fear, join a community on line, even by texting, develop all your skills and forget perfection at the beginning.