Please describe your relationship Respect local culture

When in Rome do as the Romans do. I believe that this saying is really good advice, but very often people forget about it. Just a week ago I visited Egypt during my vacation with my friend. We were ordinary tourists with a lazy goal - to relax, to swim and have a good time. However, after a couple days there we understood that all the personnel were advanced in providing services to us, that they all tried to speak russian or ukrainian every time they met us. But we were in another country and wanted to feel that better, that is why we started to learn the basic words that they usually said to us in russian in arabic. I need to add that our vacation was exactly in the last week of Ramadan. Ramadan is an muslim holiday that lasts for a month and during this months you cannot eat or drink during the day, it is allowed to do it only after sunset. That is why some of the personal were not only pretty tired at work, but it seems that they were kinda exhausted. Once we started to practice our new way of communication, the locals at first even didn’t get that we were talking to them in their language, but when they did the tired faces were brightened with a huge smile. In several days we became “that girls that know arabic” and locals became more polite, interested and communicative with us. Because of that, we spoke to a lot of interesting people and got acquainted with the local culture much more than all other people from our hotel. We brought joy to them and they paid us the same. As they say - when in Rome do as the romans do.