Please argue for and against the idea: “It is found that translation is freedom”. Your overall score will be given on your reasoning and examples.

There are some supported opinions and arguments about the belief “It is found that translation is freedom” due to several following reasons. In agreement with this idea, many people have the same view with it because it is free to choose translation methods, translation strategies as well as translation theories, and translators have the liberty to determine on either translation or not translation an idea in the source text to target text. Firstly, because of the diversity of translation methods, strategies, theories together with the conclusion of famous experts in translation; translators tend to be free and comfortable in choosing ways of translating. For example, in translating the title or name of literature work, there are theories of Jakobson (1959) along with Briffa and Caruana (2009) about the creative aspects; methods such as literal translation, complementarity in title translation and symbolic approach; strategies such as dynamic equivalence and formal equivalence for translators to choose which are suitable for their translating document freely. Moreover, Ho Dac Tuc stated that translators could choose approaches when they practiced translation. Jiri Lévy (1967) also said that the freedom to choose the method of translation based on a theory, in accordance with or without a convention of practice, choosing to translate or reject a translation task, is a decision the translator chooses. Other reasons are the right of translators to choose to translate an idea or not depending on the translator’s outlook on life and interest. In fact, decision-making rights include the freedom to choose how to translate and the attitude towards the content of the translation and whether or not the translator has the right to translate depends on the translator's view of life and ethics according to Chesterman (1997). Besides, the point of view about this right is mentioned as a noticeable principle in seven translation organizations’ ethical standards which is studied by Dolmaya (2011). This principle expresses that it reflects freedom, so translators can make choices that are appropriate for their personal gain. A well-known example of this right is Ms. Diane, who has nearly 30 years of experience as a translator in a court in Houston (Texas) because she refused to translate a poem requested in court due to her thought that she could not convey all aspects of the poem when she was not a literary interpreter. However, some people argue for the idea “It is found that translation is freedom” as a result of the limitation of freedom in translation. In clearly, freedom in translation is limited freedom for ethical nature in translation along with the purpose and reader object of the translated text. Primarily, respect the idea, the purpose of the author in the original text is to convert correctly the purpose and ideas from the original text into the target text based on the translation ethics. For instance in translating obscene words such as fuck, dammit and hell in the lines of a story, translators tend to translate these words with equivalence obscene words in target text instead of skipping these indecent words in order to keep the expression of the author in source text about the bad mood of the character. In addition, translators have to consider converting the language process because it is depended on the aim and reader object that the target document towards to create a suitable and correct target document. It is necessary to weigh the aim and reader object because the ways of translation or the language is changed for each group of objects, different purposes. For example, to make Vietnamese people understand the idiom “when in Rome, do as the Romas”, the translator translates it into “nhập gia tùy tục” because the reader object for this situation is Vietnamese people who are not familiar with the two images “Rome” and “Romas” leading to the resulted in the replacement of these two images in accordance with Vietnamese culture.