dynamic equivalence strategy

Having two big fields for the application of the “dynamic equivalence strategy” is literary translation and website along with the slogan translation. Firstly, work of literature is translated by this strategy to be suitable for the purpose that when the reader objects read the translated products, they can understand the contents, meaning, concepts, and linguistic aspects from source language as in the target language. Besides, the “dynamic equivalence strategy” helps the translated text not be confused and cause a strange feeling Moreover, literature translation needs the creation because products of literature translation seem to be considered as a literary work; as a result, the “dynamic equivalence strategy” is appreciated for this translation’s areas because the equivalent method actively aims to make the reader happy due to the friendliness of the text, which must be smooth, fit the target language structure, and fit the style and culture of the target language. For example, translators translate the English idiom ‘As strong as a horse’ which is an aspect of literary work into the Vietnamese idiom ‘Khỏe như trâu’ because there are differences in Vietnamese and England culture. In fact, in the culture of the target language, people do not compare the strength with ‘horse’ so translators use the image of buffalo to a representative for strength instead of horse in order to create cultural harmony when Vietnamese people are familiar with the strength of ‘buffalo’. Other areas which can implement the ‘dynamic equivalence strategy’ are website translation and slogan translation due to the purpose of the website and slogan. Clearly, the goal of these sectors is to promote advertising efficiency, therefore the approaches are appropriate to generate a matching document with grammatical structures, function, and style culture of the target language to boost advertising effectiveness. For instance, translating a heading ‘About us’ for an introductive website of an enterprise, translators tend to translate ‘About us’ into ‘Giới thiệu’ after adapting for dynamic equivalence method instead of ‘về chúng tôi’ which is used by literal translation because the below content is information of the enterprise and it makes the language in the translated product is smooth.