'Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. '

It is often argued that participating in video games is considered to be a loss of valuable time, therefore, it should be forbidden for kids to play them. I fully agree that children should be banned from playing computer games. This essay will; firstly, examine how the continuous use of these games is detrimental to a child’s optical health, secondly, discuss how their content may negatively impact children’s fragile minds. Many believe that children should play computer games because it is a means of relaxing in stressful everyday school life. Because children are constantly being tested at school, it is often thought that playing video games in free time gives them space to be creative and carefree. Regardless, this is a negligible advantage as there are many other ways to release stress, like sports. However, children should not play video games due to their numerous harmful effects video games, especially on the eyes. This is because, hours per day are spent fixated on a laptop screen playing these games, consequently, putting a strain on eyes and reducing their optical capacity. This can be exemplified by countless medical studies like the Childs Optical Health Society Research, which concluded that 50% of children who wear glasses spend at least one hour a day playing computer games. Overall, this may result in grave consequences such as, the child may require glasses. Another point is, computer games have an extremely negative influence on kids mentality. This is due to the fact that these games may contain inappropriate language, harmful imagery and concepts. Thus, leading to aggressive behaviour and thoughts. For example, Grand theft auto –a famous law breaking aggressive video game- was found to be a common factor amongst 70% of juvenile offenders in the uk in 2018. Owing to the fragile nature of young minds, they may easily be swayed and influenced by these games. In conclusion, although there is much debate surrounding the topic of the youth and computer games, undoubtedly it is a unfavourable trend as it reduces optical health and promotes violence in some instances. In future, I hope video games are unavailable by law for children under 18.