Plastic'shopping'bags'contribute'to'pollution'of'land'and'sea. 'Some'people'think'they' should'be'banned. 'To'what'extent'do'you'agree'or'disagree? '

Banned Plastic In Not Always The Best Solution For Environment In 1950 the world produces plastics only 2 million tonnes per year. Since then, annual production has increased by nearly 200-fold, reaching 381 million tonnes in 2015. For context, this is roughly equivalent to the mass of two-thirds of the world population. The packaging was the dominant use of primary plastics, with 42 percent of plastics entering the use phase. Talking about the campaign to reduce the plastic used or banned especially shopping bag mostly people agree with the program. Besides there are a lot of advantages that we can get from banned plastics, actually plastics give contributions to the environment like pollution in the land and ocean, a similar problem that happens if all the consumers substitute it with paper bags, and in terms of the climate change. Some people deny that the plastic bags used in supermarkets and shops have a negative effect on the environment because they do not know about degrade and end up as litter in our cities or oceans. Published in the journal Science in February 2015, a study conducted by a scientific working group at UC Santa Barbara’s National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS), quantified the input of plastic waste from land into the ocean. The results: every year, 8 million metric tons of plastic end up in our oceans. It’s equivalent to five grocery bags filled with plastic for every foot of coastline in the world. In 2025, the annual input is estimated to be about twice greater, or 10 bags full of plastic per foot of coastline. So the cumulative input for 2025 would be nearly 20 times the 8 million metric tons estimate – 100 bags of plastic per foot of coastline in the world. Banning plastics bags below a specific thickness is a prudent strategy to prevent pollution of land and water. These bags are so thin that they can get easily torn and can not be recycled. Consequently, they are not properly disposed of and stay in the local ecosystem for more than 600 years. This often leads to the pollution of underground water when rainfall on these bags and absorb certain plastic material. Moreover, sometimes stray animal consumes them and fall sick. This eventually to the death of these animals and the spread of disease among the human population. Most people who advocate banning plastic bags suggest paper bags (which are biodegradable) or reusable bags that are typically made from cotton or plastic. The replacements for plastic bags also carry significant environmental risks. Both of these replacements are flawed. Paper bags require us to continue clearing forests and also carry a large carbon footprint. Reusable bags are plagued by similar problems. Independent studies have shown that the production of cotton and reusable plastic causes more harm to the environment than disposable plastic bags. Coupled with the fact that reusable bags are more difficult to recycle, their overall effect on the environment is worse. The final argument some people often not know that plastic bags are non-recyclable. Not all plastic bags are non-recyclable. Those a certain thickness do not hear and are easily and hence, they can be responsibly disposed and recycled. Governments should enforce strictly the regulation, people will continue to flout the recycling and minimum thickness norm. If these are properly recycled and this will not only reduce the mountain of the plastic waste of various dumping grounds but also reduce pollution of the river and as well as ground pollution. This is crucial, not only in the understanding of the problem but implementing the most effective interventions for reduction. However, instead of banning plastic, it should be recycled, reduce, and more to reuse. Despite the advantages of banning plastic bags, the solutions for plastic bags are worse than the original problem. So, use what we have and use it continuously if it is broken we will fix it the big point is don’t use once and we throw it.