Some people think that money is the best gift for teenagers. Others disagree.

Nowadays, it has become common to present adolescents with cash. While some assume that it benefits young people’s money management skills and thus encourages independence in them, others counter that it leads many youngsters to get into the habit of irrational spending. As both viewpoints have merits, I tend to believe that the decision of whether or not to gift the youth with cash should be based on the teenagers’ ability to deal with money. Proponents of cash gifts highlight the practicality of such presents. They think that money presents the youth with an opportunity to hone their money management and budget planning skills that will be important in their further lives when they will have to make decisions independently. In addition, it is often difficult to guess what kind of present teenagers hope for; therefore, gifting money to them is more practical as it allows them to purchase items they have been longing for for a long time. Besides, some individuals find it tedious and time-consuming to wander around the mall in search of the appropriate gift. These people would rather present adolescents with an envelope of banknotes than a box of presents because they would save time by doing so. That being said, many people, including youngsters, consider cash gifts to be effortless, impersonal and lacking in creativity. Teenage recipients of such gifts may even forget about them as soon as they have spent the money. Apart from that, a great number of young people are thought to be too inexperienced to make appropriate spending decisions. To illustrate, a Harvard University study revealed that nearly three-quarters of teenagers aged 13 to 18 spend their personal budget on items of little utility, such as videogame consoles or overpriced trendy clothes. This can also turn them into shopaholics and irrational spenders. In conclusion, my own feeling is that cash can indeed be a good gift provided that the youth know how to use it properly and how to avoid unnecessary expenditure.