Plastic shopping bags contribute to pollution both on land and in the sea. Some people believe they should be banned.

Shopping bags made of plastic part take in pollution on land and in the waters. While I agree that plastic bags are extremely harmful and should be banned, I also believe that their limited usage is necessary. Firstly, plastic shopping bags should be banned because they act as a safety hazard. Both on land and sea, wild animals are consistently injured by means of suffocation and entrapment as a result of failure of proper plastic bag disposable. This ultimately results in their premature deaths. The banning of plastic bags will aid in reducing animal mortality linked to pollution. Secondly, shopping bags made of plastic when eventually discarded take a very long time to decompose. With the excessive filling and loss of space for potential refill sites, the use of shopping furthers the crisis. The inability of plastic shopping bags to degrade at a fast rate, prolongs the waiting for the reuse of old refill areas. However, the banning of plastic bags is inconvenient. It is impractical to be carrying around a recyclable bag for shopping at all times, especially when already outdoors and would require the purchase of another or retrieving them from wherever they are. The unavailability of plastic shopping bags is therefore more tedious, time consuming and costly. Moreover, the nature of plastic bags means that they are both durable and extremely useful in extreme weather. Reusable shopping bags can carry large amounts of shopping without tearing and are very helpful in times of rain given their waterproof material. To conclude, while using plastic shopping bags should be banned and gravely impacts both wildlife and the environment, it is impractical to completely ban its usage. Rather the selling and its use should be carefully controlled and monitored. It should simply not be available as freely.