Should education be free from preschool to university?

Should education be free of charge for all students? Thare are many costs involved with education such as maintenance costs, staff salaries and material. Some people defend that students should access education since its beginning in early ages until university levels without having to pay for studying, while the government would be responsible to cover these costs. This essay will argue why the responsibility to pay for the education expenses should not be entirely of the government, but some groups have to contribute to cover the amount spent. If the education for all ages was free of charge for students in a country, that would create a favorable learning scenario, apparently. That is because there would be a wide access of people to schools and universities, which, in theory, increases the chance of people getting good jobs and salaries. Research shows that, the more years a person studies, higher is his or her annual income. Moreover, a wider access to studying opportunities is a valuable measure to tackle social inequality, for the same reason mentioned: higher chances of better employment. Thus, it seems like education free of charge has advantages that would benefit the population in general. On the other side, if nobody pays for education, that would be covered by public resources. That would not be a good idea considering the fact that the government would be overwhelmed with this financial burden and there would be not enough resources to be spent in health and infrastructure, for example, areas that are equally important. Addittionally, people usually do not value properly things that are free, for example, paying for colleges makes students to avoid failing sicne they will have to pay again in this case. For these reasons, education should not be free for everyone, in every phase of it, however some public schools and universities may offer free education to people who manage to conquer this by merit. In conclusion, this essay discussed why the costs related to studies from preschool to superior education should not be entirely attributed to public resources. In contrast, some people should pay for that and some not, depending on their financial situation and their own educational merit.