Why is urbanisation on the rise? How can we deal with this issue?

Considering recent development in the major cities, we have been seeing a massive influx of population into urban areas. This issue, if not tackled efficiently, can lead to a wide variety of problems. There are many causes of flow of people to the more developed areas that need to be addressed. Firstly, with every coming government, the rural areas have been neglected. Cities, being the hub of modern affairs, are being loaded with resources whereas the villages have been devoid of even the basic necessities like food, water, and electricity to name a few. The commute, telecommunication, and sewerage systems are way ahead of those in the rural areas. Another major reason for people, especially the young generation, to move to the cities, is better employment opportunities and living standards. All these issues, if not dealt with properly and timely would lead to masses of people migrating to more developed areas, giving rise to a fear of limited resources not being able to sustain the growing population. To avoid such events from happening, the government should introduce better prospects for provision of basic necessities to the villages. Sufficient attention should be paid, and funds allocated, to flourish the education, telecommunication, and major departments. The farms should be maintained and modernized in order to increase the revenue so that it can be used to make the present facilities better. In conclusion, the rural areas should be given their fair share of attention, so that they are not left far behind as compared to the urban areas. Basic resources and better job opportunities should be provided to these areas as to encourage people to seek a better future without having to move to the cities.