Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

Some people think that the use of plastic shopping bags should be prohibited in order to reduce people causing more problems for the environment.   It is because plastic is a material that takes over centuries to degrade. To cherish and save our earth, I strongly agreed with the idea that plastic shopping bags should be prohibited. Most marine creatures death is attributable to plastic pollution in the ocean.   Countless plastic bags are going into the oceans every year, and most of them cannot be recycled or break down completely.   Since animals like fish, whales, crabs, seabirds are not able to distinguish between food and rubbish. They may mistakenly think that plastic bags are food that can't be digested, so eventually, they died.  For this reason, plastic waste is one of the serious environmental matters in the world. To solve the problem of plastic waste, plastic shopping bags are provided under the condition in some countries.   These rules could impel shoppers to use recycle bags and encourage shop owners to provide paper bags instead of plastic bags. For instance, $0. 5 Hong Kong dollars per plastic bag would be charged as per request in Hong Kong.   In fact, many Hong Kong people have become accustomed to bringing their own reusable bags after these regulations have been enacted.   It has brought about a positive effect on diminishing the consumption of plastic bags. In conclusion, numerous usage of plastic bags could bring a detrimental impact on our environment.   Banning people to use plastic bag is just a small step.  We should think more about how to protect our earth through our daily lives.