Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

There is a controversy regarding whether the student should study the science of food or learn other crucial subjects during the time in their school. Some people think that student focus on the main subjects can pave the way for their career progression. However, I believe taking Home Economics at school has brought a beneficial impact on students' lifestyle. Most companies tend to recruit graduates with high proficiency in core subjects. Languages and mathematics are fundamental knowledge to facilitate their integration into society. For instance, English and Mandarin courses can help learners to develop communication skills, while math courses can help learners to develop analytical skills. Both skills apply to all industries and increase learners' competitiveness in the job markets. There is no doubt that spending time on significant subjects is one of the most reliable ways to succeed in their career path. On the other hand, understanding food and cooking enable students to cultivate a healthy lifestyle. Many students lack adequate nutrition in their daily lives, which may cause them some health problems. As an example, overweight is one of the common issues among elementary school students. Instilling the concept of nutritional values and guiding a correct approach for food combination are believed to abstain students from improper eating habits. Hence, students should take food science lessons to avoid those health-related diseases and choose food wisely. To encapsulate, some people may think the learning value of food science is lower than other academic subjects. However, enhancing students to have consciousness in eating habits is vital for their health. Therefore, I recommend schools set this subject as a compulsory curriculum for scholars.