Every year large numbers of people migrate from one country to another for different reasons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of migration for the individual and for society as a whole.

Nowadays, many people leave their country for various reasons every year. Owing to economic, social, and political reasons, people are looking for a new place to settle down for a better quality of life or environment. For individuals, there will be some difficulties and challenges in the migration process, but they may receive financial gains and political stability after all and become a strong labour force in the receiving country. Migration is a huge potential factor for aiding the destination countries' economic growth in many ways. For instance, high-skilled migrants could seek a desirable working condition and develop a better career path. It enables them to gain professional growth and work with people from the different cultural background. As for the entrepreneurs who migrated there to make investments, the more money they invest, the more the society will gain. In addition, low-skilled migrants could bring about beneficial effects on filling undesirable job vacancies such as telemarketers or cleaners. It helps society to solve the problem of a shortage of workers. These significant positive aspects bring a substantial income to society and migrants. On the other hand, there are some issues that migrants have to confront in the destination country. The influx of migrants may lead to a sharp increase in the demand for the welfare state, such as healthcare and unemployment benefit. Accordingly, it may trigger discrimination against newcomers. It seems that xenophobia and racism are closely related to migrants' difficulties in integrating into society and finding a job. Since they have a hard time coping with their economic hardship, they may feel dreadfully hopeless. These adverse aspects might bring disastrous effects to society and migrants. To encapsulate, migration has benefits and drawbacks for both parties. Individually, while migrants possibly take a step upward on the career ladder, some people may encounter unwelcome situations for the sake of being social outcasts. From a social point of view, receiving countries can build a stronger fiscal structure, but they also need to set aside sufficient monetary reserves to cope with the expenses on the safety net for migrants.