Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Working late hours, and not sparing enough time for relaxation activities is becoming habit for a number of people these days. Even though these practice can have a few benefits, but it can end up in more than a few drawbacks. In my opinion, disadvantages of working long hours outweighs its advantages. On the one hand, People are getting stuffed with too much work these days. As a result, they have to work beyond standard hours to complete the work. Mentioning about some positive aspects, sometimes one can earn more money by putting more hours to work, and can also achieve the work target. It is common that such behaviour gets appreciated by the employer. For example, employees that work more than regular 8 hour clock schedule often get promoted due to the fact that they did put extra efforts to achieve the target. Furthermore, people are more inclined towards this doing due to the fact that they can earn almost the same amount of revenue as their regular job if they invest bit more time in free lancing. Nevertheless, this has great detrimental effects on the workers. First of all, rendering very little amount of time to themselves for entertainment, results in poor mental health. Secondly, a person can not spend enough time with dear ones and sometimes relations become weak with family members. Thirdly, even though having benefit of making more money, overtime can cause stress. Now, this stress generated due to over working will decrease the perfomance efficiency and puts the worker at the same place with less work done. For instance, study has found that employees become less effective by 20 percentage if they have worked for 10 hours on previous day. This means that there is actually no gain by doing overtime. In conclusion, It can be said that because of reduced performane on next day due to working late on previous day. On top of that, overtime also brings up some health issue and bad causes to relations. That’s why people should give enough time to leisure activities while keeping healthy balance with work hours.