Plastic injection molding process

One of the greatest inventions that was created by humans is plastic; moreover, scientists found that plastic is able to last millions of years. Plastic is widely used around the world due to its cheapness, durability, and flexibility. However, many people do not know how the plastic that they use in their daily life is made. For simple-shape products like rectangular bowls, a plastic injection molding process is recommended. The plastic injection molding consists of 3 sub-divisions: Injection, Mold, and Clamping. From one side of the process, there is the Injection section where raw plastic material is processed and prepared. The main components of this section are hydraulic screw drive and gearing, barrel, heater bands, and hopper. First things first, raw plastic material that is contained in a hopper is directly connected to the barrel. Subsequently, the raw plastic material falls into the barrel due to gravitational force. After that, hydraulics screw drive is responsible for rotating itself while moving back and forth along the barrel like a grinding machine. Then, to shorten the duration of the process, raw plastic material is heated up by heater bands. Eventually, the plastic is pushed by the screw drive towards the side of the barrel that is connected to the mold section; the barrier between mold and injection section is called stationary platten. From the other side of the process, there are Mold and Clamping sections which are responsible for the shape of the final product; the shaping process occurs between the stationary platten and rear platten. After raw plastic material is grinded and heated up, it is then injected to the cavity. Lastly, the plastic is then compressed into a rectangular bowl shape by a moving platten which is powered by the clamping unit. In summation, the plastic injection molding process is simple and requires little amount of time per one production.