plastic bags should be banned

The topic of the prohibition of plastic bags is extremely controversial. Some people strongly agree with the opinion that plastic bags should be banned, while others are holding the opposite view. The main objective of this essay is to comprehensively discuss both sides of this argument. Those people who are in favour of prohibiting plastic bags believe that those bags harm not only marine life but in addition human health too. One explanation to support this point is that most oceans have plastic fragments such as plastic bags that have some contaminants, which are harmful to the health of humans. Marine life such as fish often mistake plastic materials for food and consume them. Furthermore, seafood is consumed by people. When individuals prepare them, they consume all those chemicals impacting their health. Consequently, they might develop cancer or other life-threatening diseases. Another justification the advocates would put forward is that plastic is difficult to recycle. Most recycling facilities do not have the capability to recycle plastic bags and therefore reject them. As a result, persons throw them into trash cans, from there there’s a possibility that these bags might be blown away by wind and pollute the environment. The fact that plastic is non-biodegradable makes consequences even appalling. Those who are against have reasons that cannot be ignored. The most important argument against is that the manufacturing of plastic is a big industry and it gives employment to hundreds of thousands of people, once it is shut down, all these employees lose their jobs. Hence there will be a downturn in economics. Another reason to reject this issue is the cost of reusable bags. If plastic bags are banned, everyone will have to purchase eco-friendly bags, and those are much more expensive than plastic. It might be not convenient for people with a tight budget. Taking into account both these sets of arguments, it is evident that banning of plastic bags is the best decision.