pirated versions of movies are found on internet. is it a good or bad development?

Internet is a place where things like movies, songs and magazines are readily available in pirated versions and consumers need not to pay money to avail these services or content. Due to this, the producers and creators often lose a lot of revenue from their product. In my perspective, this is good as well as bad development up to certain extent. By looking from the one side, to create a quality content, financial investment is required. If producers will not earn back the money that they have invested, then no one would be willing to produce or publish these materials. Similarly, when an artist earns money for his hard work, then only he/she gets inspired for continuing his effort into making their respective content. Moreover, an artist has to look after their families also, which is not possible without being paid for their work. Hence, the free content available online would only dampen the quality of the content created. However, by taking a look from the other side, it is argued that some content available on sites is very expensive, which can not be afforded by common people. Hence the reach of the content decreases to a great extent when only paid members are allowed to access. So, the artist would not be appreciated as much as he/she would have, had the content got more reach because of free availability. For example, Netflix is a platform for good quality movies and web series. But as it is a paid application, so the content is not watched by many people until it is available on pirated sites for free. To recapitulate, undoubtedly artist should get paid for his work, but at the same time audience should not be charged heavily for wanting to access to the content of their favorite actor, singer or writer. Instead, companies and artists should try to earn from other sources like advertisement on their content.