should government put more taxes on fast food as they are not good for health? Discuss and give your opinion.

Junk foods are readily available nowadays and many people consider it to be the primary reason behind the overweightness of certain individuals in the community. Therefore, there has always been a question, whether the authorities should levy additional charges on these unhealthy foods? In my perspective, they should focus on alternative solutions rather than increasing the taxes. To embark on, fast food is mostly being consumed by rich and middle-class residents. If the extra charges are imposed on people, it would not affect the higher financial class. Hence, even after have to pay additional taxes, they would continue having these in their diet. However, middle income citizens would suffer from such action. People with urge to eat such foods would not reduce their consumption but instead it would put a big hole in their pocket. Moreover, restaurant owners would be burdened by these steps. Hence, they will be suffering by paying heavy duties. Considering the aforementioned, approaching this problem more practically can offer better results. Young students should be taught about the severe consequences of having excess of such unprocessed food in their respective academic institutions. When they are made aware about the side effects from a very early age, then they would be able to differentiate between healthy and unhealthy food. In addition to it, governing bodies should try to run the awareness drives for their citizens to help them understand about the benefits of healthy eating habits. In conclusion, there is no denying that junk food has become an indispensable part of the modern lifestyle of many persons. But, the problem should be approached more practically like by educating and awaring the masses rather than imposing additional taxes.