Pike Royal Commission case study

An explosion, caused by the ignition of methane gas in a New Zealand underground mine operated by Pike River Coal Ltd (Pike), a company part-owned by New Zealand Oil & Gas Ltd (NZOG), killed 29 workers on 19 November 2010. The Royal Commission on the Pike River Coal Mine Tragedy uncovered systemic failures in Pike’s health and safety protocols, caused by Pike’s undue focus on appeasing its shareholders. Unfortunately, the company’s culture of profit before safety led to signals of danger being ignored, with an example being the failure to report flammable range methane gas readings, in the month before the explosion, to the Department of Labour (DOL). The Royal Commission also determined that the unusual design of the mine’s ventilation system “could compromise the survival chances for anyone underground”, particularly as any “malfunction of the fan or its motor can be a source of ignition” and that the mine lacked a second egress. Furthermore, Pike lacked the necessary resources and staff to provide workers with training in safe mining techniques. The Royal Commission states that Pike was required by the Health and Safety in Employment Act 1992 (HSE Act) to “take all practicable steps to ensure that no employee, contractor or subcontractor was harmed while working”. Pike had breached the HSE Act on multiple occasions. Furthermore, it acted unethically by exploiting ambiguities in workplace safety legislation. The Royal Commission identified that it was recognised by the DOL’s health and safety inspector that the installation of an underground fan “would give rise to more hazards than a surface installation”. However, the inspector was unable to prevent Pike from installing the fan because legislation did not forbid such a practice. By proceeding with the fan installation, Pike demonstrated that it perceived worker safety to be secondary to the happiness of its shareholders.