Personal questions in the interviews

During job interviews, hiring managers always try to ask questions that help them to evaluate the candidate better and lead them to a better decision. There are some common questions about strengths, weaknesses etc. In addition, there is another type of question which seems irrelevant to a group of people. These unrelated questions can be about marital status, hobbies, and favorite activities and so on. Considering personal questions irrelevant and not helpful is what a group of people believe. Firstly, the activities people are interested in, and do in their free time can depends on different factors such as: Lifestyle, culture, age, nationality etc. Secondly, marital status, age, and even nationality considered personal information and it is possible that someone does not like to share them with others. Asking these types of questions in an interview, as applicants have to answer them is attacking their privacy. Thirdly, these questions will help hiring managers to learn about the candidates’ personality and feelings and even their life situations. Having this information will lead the HR managers to judge applicants based on personal factors and not their ability and skills. In contrast, there are another group who believe asking for personal information can lead in interviewers to a better decision. The reason behind this idea is: first, some jobs may need its employees to work an extra time and for such a job a single person will be a better option than a married candidate. Second, studies have shown that people who are working in industries that they feel passionate about, improve faster and learn easier. Third, asking personal information such as hobbies will brighten the mood. To be more specific, applicants feel more comfortable and can answer question stress free. Without stress, job seekers will be able to present themselves better, which lead to a better decision for hiring managers too. To summarize, considering all the advantages that personal questions may bring, I agree with the second group and believe as long as these questions do not offend the interviewee, they can be beneficial and guide the hiring managers to the top candidates.