why do you think crime books and TV shows are popular? what is your opinion of crime fiction and tv crime dramas?

Nowadays, crime genre novels and dramas are expanding and becoming popular. This essay discusses on causes of crime-based drama and novel’s popularity includes my personal opinions. In my opinion, the reality of this world and what people hear from the media contributed to the popularity of crime novels and dramas. For instance, the world we are living in now has continuous crimes including kidnapping, murder, theft, etc. Therefore, people would watch and listen to numerous crimes in real life or from media, which could impact our subconscious to be cautious and attentive about crimes. Another possible reason could be the thrilling stories. Unlike other genres, crime-based novels or dramas are often mysterious and thrilling which makes people watch them unstoppably. I assume that there is an effect to make the story more enjoyable when people are not able to predict the result, they would think the story is more interesting compared to common predictable happy ending stories. For instance, when we watch a romantic drama, we could guess the ending most of the time however, crime genres are always difficult to guess thus, we would not skip a scene. Moreover, I do not like any crime dramas or fiction because I think it makes me think about the world negatively. Not only that it makes me think negatively but also, I believe this genre contributes to my depression. I assume this is caused by watching all the dark sides of humanity. Furthermore, it could bring some negative influences on teenagers or give courage to potential criminals. For instance, there was a crime at a middle school and the convicted criminal has announced that he admired the main character of a crime drama and influence him to do a such crime. Overall, I assume that many people would enjoy crime novels and dramas due to those reasons I stated above, however, it could bring many negative effects from watching and reading it.