personal question to ask or not

Candidates are often asked personal questions such as hobbies, interest and marital status by the prospective employers while appearing for job interviews. Some think that these questions are necessary as it reflects individuals’ mindset, while others think the opposite. I believe, it is important to ask for these personal questions as these are key barometer to determine the suitability of the candidate and the reasons to support this argument are discussed further in this essay. While there are multifold reasons to discuss questions related to hobbies, family etc. the first and foremost is that the employer will be able to identity if the candidate will be available to support long working hours and cope up with abiding job pressure Most of the jobs for example, working in law firms, consulting requires long tedious working hours including working on weekends and public holidays, which might be difficult for a married individual or for a mother, as they might be required to attend family responsibilities. Furthermore, knowing interest and hobbies helps one to evaluate personality traits which in-turn will facilitate to judge the adoptability and inter personal skills, this is deemed as mandatory in the current corporate environment as everyone these days spend more time in office with peers than with family. Moreover, the hobbies and the interest help to understand soft -skills such as communication, team player, leadership from the interest one pursues. This will help the employer identify the right person for the right job and will reduce attrition, as well. On the contrary, some people argue that this information can be kept confidential and this should not be relevant to consider the eligibility of the applicant. Secondly, recruiters’ decision may be prejudiced after knowing these details. For instance, recruiter may not want to hire a female who is about to start a family as she will be going on maternity leave sometime soon after joining. To conclude, I believe, in order to know the person better and to select a right fit for organization it is fundamentality required to discuss personal information also, this could serve as a better ice-breaking point starting point for interviewee to demonstrate his or her strengths. Therefore, with due caution and taking into consideration job profile and the moral ethics such information can be discussed by employer.