percentage of overweight children in western countries have increased by 20% in the last 10 years. is technology to be blamed

The last ten years have witnessed various developments in terms of technology and interventions This has led to a dramatic increase in the business of fast food chains and restaurants. Therefore, it is not a surprise that the percentage of overweight children in western countries have increased by 20% in the last 10 years. This essay will discuss how the development of technology and busy lifestyle has led to an unhealthy lifestyle and an increase in the BMI of the children in developed nations, posing a major problem: Obesity. Technology can be a blessing but also a curse at the same time. With the development of smart phones (Apple and Android) the use of applications (“apps”) has become so common. Every necessity, including home delivery of food items at your doorstep has become such an accessible idea. Applications such as “uber eats” and “skip the dishes” come to the rescue when individuals are unable to cook. This, although being a choice has now become an unhealthy habit for many families; leading to an increase in the percentage of households ordering food “online”. Moreover, with a busy lifestyle in developed nations, it is becoming a difficult task for families to have a “healthy home cooked meal” on many days. Therefore, uber eats is now becoming one of the most used applications in order to order food. Children from such families, where both the parents have a busy work life; order food from these applications. Since fast food chains such as McDonalds and KFC are the fastest to deliver, people tend to order the most from these chains. The increased amount of cholesterol and fat in these food items are unhealthy and since it is now becoming a regular habit; Obesity and overweight are common. Also, another important aspect of increase in the weight of children in developed nation is the development of “online gaming” on iPads and smart phones. Unlike the past, where children used to go out to play soccer and tennis; now with all these games which also include a virtual player (which can also be their friend playing from their respective homes) it is more easier for children to indulge in such games in the comfort of their home. This leads to lack of exercise, activity and laziness. Therefore, a higher risk factor for children being obese. To sum up, although we have made a huge progress over the last ten years in terms of technology; it is also essential to identify issues that this can pose on children. Obesity is a predisposing factor for many diseases; therefore, it is important to recognize this as serious problem and work towards the promotion of a healthy lifestyle. A cut down in the usage time of these devices, especially in children would be a great start in working towards the betterment of this situation.