In many countries girls score higher in examines than boys in high school, even in the sciences. Yet in these same countries boys are more likely to have careers as scientist. Why do you think more boys become scientists than girls? Should the government and university offer incentives for girls to take up careers in science?

Attitude and social conditioning in certain societies is one of the most significant reasons for a lack of women in science careers. Diversity in gender and characteristics may be needed in science, hence government should offer attractive incentives for women to study and purse a position in science. The most significant cause of less women in science field is overall attitude towards women, both personally and community. In many countries, especially in Asian countries, people have their own traditional belief that men are good at science relevant careers such as doctor, engineer, and scientist. On the other hand, they think that women are good at social science jobs including accountant, journalist, and artist. Also, social condition is another consideration. According to global science organisation bodies such as Nobel Prize, 90% of candidates and nominees are men. While there are some increasing of women in science recently. The number of participations is still not enough to make an impact for the society to change their attitude toward women in science. The government should offer attractive incentives such as scholarships or apprenticeship opportunities for women who choose to study and purse their career in science area. In every subject, diversity in gender and characteristics may be needed because every people are different. While male personalities might be more suitable for science relevant careers, female characteristics, which men might lack of like more concentration to the details will fulfil limitations and invent new methodology of work or solve the problem that might have not solved for a long time, for example, a vaccination for COVID-19. In conclusion, traditional belief and attitude towards women in science is the cause of less female scientists. The government should provide incentives for women to study and purse their careers in science as diversity would help to fulfil limitation, improve ability and innovate new solutions for certain science related issues.