People who try to acquire more than one skill are more likely to become successful than people who just focus on one skill

The skill of a person has crucial influence on success in his job. Some people think people who try to acquire more than one skill are more likely to become successful than people who just focus on one skill. However, from my perspective, it depends on the work’s category and the job’s property. On one hand, trying to acquire more than one skill is important for some careers which need substantial personal interaction every day, such as teachers. To be more concrete, teachers contact with not only students, but colleagues and predecessors. They have to give lessons to students, have discusssions with colleagues and report work to predecessors. Teaching ability and social competence are both required in this work. If the teacher does not have a high ability of education, he is not a qualified teacher; If he does not have a high competence of cooperation, he will feel tough in the teacher’s office. Therefore, trying to acquire more than one skill is of importance sometimes. On the other hand, focusing on one skill sometimes is extremely significant for some work which need high concentration and accuracy, such as scientists. To be more specific, scientists are supposed to concentrate one project in a period. Developing other skills demands much time and energy which is precious for scientists. Because focusing on one skill, ensure the accuracy of the experiments consumes too much for them. Having a grasp of other skill is virtually a distration for them. There is no need to master things which are not required in their work. On the contrary, if they try to learn other abilities, they probably make many mistakes in their own work because people’s concentration is limited. You should not require worthless things to them anymore. So, focusing on one skill can be crucial and advisable sometimes. To put it in a nut shell, the statement that people who try to acquire more than one skill are more likely to become successful than people who just focus on one skill cannot hold water. We should put it into concrete jobs because different job’s requirements and properties are different.