PEOPLE TODAY HAVE A SENSE THAT THEIR SAFETY IS THREATENED BOTH OUTSIDE AND INSIDE THEIR HOUSE. THE REASONS FOR THIS VARY AND PROBLEMS SHOULD BE TACKLED IN DIFFERENT WAYS

THERE ARE COMMON RISKS THAT EVERY INDIVIDUAL HAS TO CONFRONT AS THEY WALK OUT THE DOOR. ONE PARTICULAR SALIENT EXAMPLE OF THIS SHOULD BE TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS. HIGH POPULATION DENSITY PUTS PRESSURE ON THE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM AND A RISE IN THE NUMBER OF COMMUTING VEHICLES MEANS THAT PEOPLE NOW ARE MORE LIKELY TO GET INVOLVED IN A CAR CRASH THAN THEY WERE IN THE PAST. IN ADDITION, OUR INDIVIDUAL SAFETY IS NOT GUARANTEED EVEN WHEN WE STAY AT HOME. FOOD POISONING IS A GENERAL CONCERN TODAY, AS MANUFACTURERS ARE WILLING TO TRADE THE WELL-BEING OF THEIR CUSTOMERS FOR PROFITS. TOXIC SUBSTANCES ARE INJECTED INTO MANY PRODUCTS TO MAINTAIN THE FOOD'S FRESHNESS FOR A LONGER TIME, AND THIS IS WHY STATE HOSPITALS ARE NOW FILLED WITH CANCER AND HEART-DISEASE PATIENTS. TO TACKLE THIS PROBLEM, I WOULD LIKE TO PROPOSE SEVERAL MEASURES. FIRSTLY, THE FOOD MARKET HAS TO BE BETTER MANAGED. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD EXAMINE MORE CAREFULLY WHICH INGREDIENTS ARE CONTAINED IN PRE-PREPARED MEALS SOLD TO THE PUBLIC AND BAN THOSE WITH HIGH LEVELS OF PRESERVATIVES. SECONDLY, EDUCATION CAMPAIGNS ABOUT THE BENEFITS OF PUBLIC TRANSPORT SHOULD REACH EVERY RESIDENT. FOR EXAMPLE, HANOI URBAN CENTRE HAS RECENTLY RUN A PROGRAMME ON FACEBOOK. THIS ENCOURAGES LOCAL PEOPLE TO PUT A LIMIT ON THE USE OF THEIR PERSONAL VEHICLES, THUS THE FREQUENCY OF TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS WOULD ALSO BE REDUCED IN THE LONG TERM. IN CONCLUSION, I BELIEVE THAT THE MENTIONED REMEDIES CAN CERTAINLY HELP PEOPLE LEAD A SAFER LIFE.