People think that the news media has influenced people s lives nowadays and it is a negative development

For many people, news is a regular part o f life. All issue in dispute is whether the massive influence o f ihe news media on people' s daily lives denotes a negative development. It is n> y view that news media does more good than harm to the society. The news media provides people with much o f the information they need on a timely basis, although there are claims that it reports on issues and events purposely ( only selecting those events that interest the audience). Anecdotal evidence shows that people from all walks o f life have the habit of collecting information regularly from the news media, including print, broadcast and Internet-based media. Information assists people in decision making. For example, the Free Trade Agreement reached by the Chinese government and its New Zealand counterpart might open up many opportunities to both counừies. For any business person, either in New Zealand or ill China, failing to recognise and capitalise on this impending change would cause a costly loss. Meanwhile it should be rccognised that the news media can sometimes save lives and reduce casualties. There is a lot o f uncertainty about the surroundings, and people are susceptible to the damage caused by accidents, crimes and natural calamity. The news media conveys the firsthand information to concerned audiences and enable them to take corresponding actions right away. The authority can declare a state o f emergency when it is necessary, organise evacuation and distribute aid to the needy areas. A ll these efforts count on the news media as the messenger. Despite their significant and ongoing contribution to the society, the news media might sometimes be harmixil to society. It is a convention that the news media exaggerates the magnitude of the real threat (for example, the potential o f a terrorism attack), in order to draw the attention o f the desired audiences and in pursuit o f high audience ratings. It ends up with causing panic among the population. Meanwhile, the news media tends to emphasise some issues or events, which virtually have little relevance to people’s daily lives, such as an occasional multiple vehicle accident, an affair that a celebrity is involved with, and the like. It distracts the audience from something that is much more noteworthy, for instance,poverty, environmental problems, to name but a few. In summary, the role o f news media as an information provider should be acknowledged. In case o f emcrgcncy, it acts as a lifcsaver. However, it is not to say that the news media can give people an overall view o f the problems in society all the time.