You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic. You should write at least 250 words.

In order to achieve the decline rate of crime, some people purpose that an appropriate way is to state the particular with severe imprisonment while, few suggest to come out with different ideas to sort it out. In this essay, I would like to detail both the perspectives and conclude with my own suggestions. On one hand, the Constitution has defined the law of punishment to reassure that, the person recognizes his/her own mistake and thus, leading to the healthy society. Certain categories of people insist the court to provide prison life for prolonged period that might end –up in destroying one’s life after prison as the society will judge based on past happenings, even though it is suggested for good cause. For instance, their reasons might be because if sociopath or serial killers are released soon, they will eventually create a fear among other individuals which is their driving force to commit crimes. On the other hand, the severity of the punishment should depend upon the intensity of the crime, is suggested by few sectors of the society. The sole reason for their crime might be because of the influence of the surroundings as in case of pickpocketing or chain snatching. As most of the people are under the below poverty line and to survive in life, they don’t have any other options but to commit crime. These crimes are to be encountered ironically without affecting the individual’s family. To sum up, I would recount that the individual’s punishment should be determined based on the circumstances and also the depth of the crime committed. If that’s related to psychology issues, the Government can enroll them in the rehabilitation centre and provide proper treatment so that, they can live their happily ever after.