On one hand people believed that the most effective method to reduce the rate of crime is to propose longer duration of imprisonment, on the other hand few say that there are other progressive solutions to deal with it.

On one hand people believed that the most effective method to reduce the rate of crime is to propose longer duration of imprisonment, on the other hand few say that there are other progressive solutions to deal with it. Although the idea of prison is to correct one's behaviour in time however the root causes of the crime must also be taken into account. In my opinion, severity of a crime plays a crucial role in deciding one's punishment. Firstly, the idea of imprisoning a criminal is to correct his wrong acts. Generally, the prisoners are kept into a jail, under the surveillance of police officers so to stop the nuisance that the cause in the public. For example, one must undoubtedly be imprisoned for a longer time if he/ she has committed a murder as his / her presence can be fatal to the society. And longer duration assure that these tendencies are under control. Nonetheless, there are other solutions to regulate the law and order in the society. Introspection is the first step to analyse the causes of crimes. In many developing countries it is observed that unemployment is the biggest motivation to crimes which can as simple as theft to as serious as murders. In these cases, the authorities must look after resolving these issues so that the society can function smoothly. I believe that, punishment is indispensable to endorse good conduct and severity of the crime is the biggest factor in deciding it. No matter how long the time is decided for the verdict it is necessary that the guilty has a change of heart in his tenure. This can be achieved by teaching the culprits new skills which can give them jobs after serving their sentence and thus can lead a normal life. In conclusion, punishment is inevitable measure to maintain law and order and severity is ought to be considered. Even so, having a background check on the causes will indubitably reduce its rate