PEOPLE THESE DAYS WATCH TV, FILMS AND OTHER PROGRAMMES ALONE RATHER THAN WITH OTHER PEOPLE. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THIS DEVELOPMENT OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

Given the increasingly popular of streaming platforms like Netflix or Hulu as well as modern technologies like smartphones, more and more people have switched from watching programs with their companions to watching alone. While the shift toward solely enjoying contents may cause some problem, the overall impact has been tremendously positive. Admittedly, the drawbacks of watching TV alone are evident. Chief of these is that, without friends or spouses, watchers might feel lonely and isolated while enjoying TV shows. Therefore, they can be susceptible to depression and stress due to the lack of interaction with their companions. This can be seen in Japan, whose rate of people suffering frequent depression and anxiety is surging, a majority of people spend most of their day alone watching programs or surfing the Internet. Furthermore, people can spend too much time on TV since they have no one to remind them, hence lack of exercising and health deteriorating. Despite the negatives mentioned above, the benefits of watching programs on one’s own are more significant. The obvious benefit is that it offers a person freedom as well as flexibility in time and choices since he or she does not have to consider others’ taste. Housewives, for instance, can enjoy their favorite shows on their own instead of watching their spouses’ favorite ones such as sports. In addition, since there is no one around, one can freely express his or her feelings toward the movies, which they may be reserved to do in front of others. This could be helpful for those who are shy because they do not need to suppress their truest thoughts or feelings. Thus, having private time enjoying contents may improve for one’s mental health. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of watching TV alone outstrip the disadvantages. This is provided that one needs to spend sufficient time socializing with their loved ones as well as doing regular exercise.