People spending time watching sport programs on TV or following their favorite team has negative effect on their lives

In my opinion, I agree that people spending time watching sport programs on TV, or following their favorite team, has negative effect on their lives for following reasons. First, these people will waste a lot of time. Although, they know the way to help them to relax from working, they will be addicted easily. They will watch these sport programs after finish working, at night, or on the weekend. Some sports, such as football or tennis, each match consumes a lot of time, so people who always follow their favorite team will lose a lot of time, and they will be less eager to do other things. On the other hand, people who are not addicted to the sport can spend time to do other important things that benefit to their lives. Second, these people will waste their money. For example, my male coworker who loves to watch Euro football match, spent a lot of money for the gambling. However, the chance to win the gambling is rare. Eventually, he had a huge debt because of gambling on his favorite sport: Euro football. In addition, following the favorite team on live competitions has the expenses, such as paying for the ticket of the games, the cost of commuting, food, hotel and etc. These will take the money out of their saving or over their budget. Finally, there are little significant benefits to people health by follow their favorite sport team. It might help them to enjoy or relax, but by sitting in front of TV, or sitting on the station for the real competition does not support people to be healthier. In contrast, people who don’t have a favorite sport team but they play sport in their daily life, tend to have a better health, both physical and mental. In conclusion, I think people spending time on TV watching sport program or following their favorite team has disadvantages than advantages, and has negative effects on their lives.