PEOPLE SPEND A LOT ON VARIOUS THINGS AS THEY EARN MORE NOWADAYS THAN BEFORE. IT IS POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT? BRAINSTORM YOUR IDEA.

It is irrefutable that many individuals can afford a variety of goods because they have higher salary than what they used to have. I believe that this could have some positive emotional, social, and economic effect on a society. Looking at the downsides of consumerism, it could damage the environment in different ways. First the more spending on consumer goods, the more waste goes to the landfills, ultimately, resulting in waste pollution. Next, when demand for products increases, factories are required to produce more for which more energy is needed; this process inevitably ends up in air pollution and global warming; the issue which nowadays is the world's main concern. On the other hand, the ability that citizens can buy more will benefit a society. It can improve the economy of a country because taxes that people pay through their purchases will increase the revenue of a government. Moreover, to fulfill the needs of a consumer society, higher rate of production is needed for which more workers have to be hired, dropping the rate of unemployment in that country. In addition, shopping usually has a positive effect on a person's emotion. it is said that like any other rewarding activities, shopping makes our brain release some chemicals which elevate our moods and could result in our happiness. Therefore, not only does more shopping boosts an economy, but also help people feel more better. In conclusion, although too much spending money on shopping goods might harm our environment due to more pollution, it could have some social and economic benefits to a society as well.