People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country.

Nowadays, a large number of citizens become immigrants due to the search of rich, secure, and comfortable life in other developed nations with different customs and traditions. While many admit that people should adopt new country’s rules and conventions when they intended to settle there, I strongly agree with this idea because of several benefits and problems that people can face with them. Disobeying and unconsciousness about host country’s cultures and traditions causes problems to the immigrants. Firstly, the refusal to adapt to host environment would create a cultural barrier for immigrants. This leads to social isolation, which has negative influences on people’s lives. Secondly, it is logical that limited knowledge of local customs may result in some illegal actions in the host country and make local people unpleased. For instance, in Singapore, one of the cleanest countries in Asia, local residents consider anyone dirty and ill-mannered if they litter the street or spit gum in the public. Newcomers can gain some benefits if they adopt the customs and traditions of a new country. One benefit is that if immigrants behave in accordance with the local norms, they will be accepted easily by local inhabitants, and as a result, they can receive respects and affections as well as some help from the local. For example, when the enterprises want to expand their production in a new country, they must be aware of business practice there, which provides them with useful information to maximize profits. Another benefit is that newcomers might gain the richness of knowledge by virtue of the local customs and traditions, which enables them to actively participate in the activities of the community. In many festivals, people are able to participate freely and feel harmonious like their own country. In conclusion, I would argue that people who dwell in a new country should follow the customs and traditions which local people observe.