People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country.

It is debated that immigrants should adapt to new local cultural norms and practices. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly consent to this view for some fundamental reasons which will be analyzed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, there are many difficulties for new residents who do not follow the customs and traditions of the host country. Firstly, they would not live in harmony with local people due to cultural differences and behaviors/because they do not respect the social norms of locals. In some cases, this may lead to tension and conflict. For example, in developed countries such as Japan or Germany, that new inhabitants litter the streets, rivers or other public spaces may insult local culture, thereby, native citizens would consider newcomers dirty people or even barbarians. Furthermore, if expats start up a new business without researching the need of local customers as well as their traditional trading methods, they would end in bankrupt due to the fact that they cannot attract and keep their customers in a long run. In addition, newcomers would gain many benefits if they show respect for the host country’s codes of conduct and habits. The first advantage could be that local residents will welcome and accept them freely. This leads to a mutual understanding and results in a better relationship. Therefore, immigrants would not have a sense of isolation or discrimination anymore. Additionally, foreigners would gain more enjoyable experience which could enrich their life in terms of spiritual aspects by participating in community life and other festivals. This activity could steer them away from homesick and feel like they belong to their new country/offer them a great sense of community as if they were in their own nation. In conclusion, following the host country’s social norms and traditions could provide newcomers with more chances to adapt to a new environment fully and enjoyably.