People of Tagus and their problem of Vitamin A deficiency

The International organization has proposed a newer way of improving the condition of people of Tagus in regard with vitamin A deficiency. They have engineered a way to scientifically enhance the contents of vitamin A in the presently cultivated crops. This newer development suggest that the problem of vitamin A deficiency will be tackled effectively with some support from the government. However, there are many underlying questions which must be answered and documented to make sure that the operation is a success. Firstly, the proposal states that the cost of scientifically modified seeds is high as compared to their native counterparts, to ensure smooth transition the organization depends on subsidies. The major question that arises is, the extent of subsidy and support from the government to support the farmers? To ensure that a larger number of existing farmer population adapts to the newer methods, government should propose some lucrative offers and make sure that the help is reached to the ground level without a scope of corruption. This will be a major hurdle in the success of this development and needs to be addressed beforehand with proper groundwork. Furthermore, it is inferred that millet is a staple food in Tagus, but this assumption is equivocal, as the type of crop grown may be dependent on the present climate of Tagus. As the year progresses with certain avid condition the diet may change, making millets obsolete. Another assumption that people of Tagus will adapt to the newer variety more easily relies on two major factors, first being the price at which it is offered to the general population and second being the taste of the millets. We have often seen that certain organic and nutrient rich products are priced differently than other products which may reduce the popularity of the millets, moreover it may impact the lower income families more adversely which may benefit from these nutrients the most. Secondly, people who are adapted to a certain taste for a prolonged period may not experiment with a newer product even if it offers some nutritional benefits, making sure that the new millets taste the same if not better is a major factor in deciding if the people will embrace the product or not. Lastly, the statement asks the government to promote the newer millets to tackle the vitamin A deficiency problem, though the issue is not wrong the medium of promotion must be specified. As a promotion via billboards and paper pamphlets may seem like money spent in wrong direction which could have been utilized elsewhere, like giving farmers additional subsidies. Therefore, this operation requires a lot of research and extensive groundwork from the govt. of Tagus to ensure that it's people thrive.