Nonverbal communication portal

To convey respect and other traditional values, Vietnamese usually choose non-verbal gestures, such as gentle bows, friendly smiles, nods and eye contact. . . If we are close friends, silence means we are listening to each other and understand it. But there will be awkward situations if we are just acquainted. The eyes play an important role in nonverbal communication and such things as looking, staring and blinking are important nonverbal behaviors. People also utilize eye gaze as a means to determine if someone thinking. Examples, because of different cultures: In Asia (including Middle East), keeping eye contact with someone of authority implies rudeness and can be mistaken as a provoking mean of communication. In Western societies, eye contact can imply empathy and comes across as a type of emotional connection. And religious differences: In extremist religions, eye contact is sometimes frowned upon amongst people of the opposite sex. Muslim women lower their gaze when in the presence of men. When people have seen colleague or their friends that they know them. They have to shake hands and kiss on their cheeks However, non-verbal communication plays an indispensable part likes spoken communication in Vietnamese society.