People nowadays work hard to buy more things. this has made our life generally more comfortable but it is pity many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism. Agree or disagree?

In pursuit of material comforts, modern man strives to achieve better financial status. In this state of mind, they consciously or unconsciously create their life surfaced and gradually found themselves disconnected from their traditional customs. However, I believe although a narrow range falls into this category, the larger proportion of society still values their culture amid material wealth. There are a number of the basis behind the argument that we are killing our roots on the way to materialism. Firstly, with open markets and massive industrialization, both the buying power and the options for the people have enhanced. While the act of buying or possessing does not directly kill our values. Whereas, there is a deeper disease called instant gratification where people want to do less and get more results. In general, there is seen an attitude of irresponsibility which makes people selfish and manipulative in today's stressful working conditions. In addition, another argument is that visiting neighbourhood houses used to be a favourite ritual for people in the past, which helped them in fostering a friendly relationship with one’s neighbours. On the contrary, this is not possible today, since people are too busy as they serve for long hours outside their homes to meet their ever enhancing demands of modern life. Even though, this has been effectively compensated. For example, by the formation of neighbourhood clubs and similar groups where people meet during weekends and engage in a number of entertainment and social activities. This provides them enormous opportunities to develop an amiable connection with their neighbours. In conclusion, I believe that we are not losing our ethics but the way of executing them has transformed in our times. Living a good provided life rather helps us take pride in our cultural history and celebrate it by way of festivals and day to day behaviour.