People nowadays tend to search up online for their health problems instead of visiting doctors. Is it a positive or negative development?

The Internet has become an easily accessible platform for people at various ranges of ages and educational backgrounds. However, this advantage has raised a matter about people who rather find out medical information online to prescribe the drugs by themselves rather than visiting a physician. In my opinion, this trend would cause many negative problems and consequences. An obvious drawback of seeking medical help online is that the high risk of wrong medication which will eventually worsen the morbidity of the patients. This is because there are very few primary trustworthy sources on the Internet, and such professional knowledge like medicine and science almost only appears in college textbooks.  One investigation from the MIT university shows that more than 80% of articles published online are secondary sources. It means that this unreliable information, which is made from amateurs and even the journalist with zero medical practice, account for the majority knowledge that we could search up on the online platform. Another issue is that nowadays there is a barrage of fraudulent advertisements on the Internet. There is a fact that, in many countries, a big number of health supplement products or functional foods are advertised on the Internet as prescription drugs for treatment, which is terribly wrong because these healthy foods only supply suitable nutrients and support for medical treatment. For example, it was reported in 2010 by the Vietnamese FDA that, each day, nearly 1, 000 false information about herbal ingredients are widely advertised on online websites to treat cancer. And without proper knowledge, gullible patients can easily deny having the proper treatments such as chemotherapy and radiotherapy just because these methods are more painful than consuming a certain herbal medicine. In conclusion, the Internet is not a dependable source of information on various medical issues since they are complex and need proper training to understand. People should consult doctors or surgeons whenever they need medical help.