why animal are used for scientific discoveries? what are the alternatives

Animals are widely used for experimentation and research work throughout the world. Many people animal activists are bent on stopping this experimental work on animals. Certain animals are to be subjected to these purposes. Keeping in mind their existence in the world. Scientists and research people are working tirelessly to discover and invent new things that are useful to humankind. It has been the oldest, a ritual of using animals for experiments. In a way, it is a better and easier way to test unknown things like medicine, chemicals, etc. on animals than to use on humans. Majorly, animals that are considered for these aspects are the mice. In Russia, there is a university that has sculptured big mice in front of the building to pay tribute to the rats, which sacrificed their lives in various discoveries. Other animals, such as monkeys, chimpanzees, are subjected to research work. These animals tend to pose similar emotional intelligence as humans. As we know, humans are evolved from monkeys. The data or the interpretations that we get from experimenting with these animals' are near to true. Care should be taken as to not make the species extinct. Many of these experiments pose a threat to animals' life and humans as well when the experiment flips to the result that was expected. There are no alternatives, as we cannot ask any individual to come forward and submit themselves for such discoveries. As it poses a threat to the whole world. And also it requires permission from various entities around the world. Considering all these aspects, certain animals can be chosen for these scientific discoveries.