People must read those books that are related to real life events or established facts. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reading only one type of books?

Books are a human’s best friend. Reading is a very good habit. People read books for different reasons. Some people read books as their hobby, and some read to keep themselves updated. With the variety of books available, one often gets confuse on what books to read and what to ignore. Although everyone has a different taste, some people believe that one must read only one kind of book, via, books related to real life events. Reading books of only one genre brings with it some advantages and disadvantages. Looking at the positive side of the argument, reading one kind of book, especially the one based on real life events, help broaden the horizon of an individual. It is often said, that if you know the past, you can make a better future. For instance, a person reading Mein Kemf, can figure out what the political circumstances were during world war and why Hitler did what he did. Knowing the reasons can help avoid them in future. However, limiting one to a particular kind of books makes the person knowledge quite stagnant. For instance, a person who reads only books on history will not know the fantastic literature Shakespeare has written. Even more, books on true events are not preferred choice of young. Example, a child of ten years will be more interested in reading fiction books; forcing him/her to read history or non-fiction might not be the most practical thing to do. Overall, in my opinion, although reading one kind of book increases the knowledge by leaps and bounds in one field, but one must be allowed to read the book of their choice.