People in many countries do not wear their traditional costume. Some argue that they would forget their history and tradition. Do you agree or disagre

People in many provinces are not inclined to traditional attire, they prefer wearing clothes that are comfortable to them. Some of them believe the dress one wears determines tradition. I don’t agree to this statement. Firstly, selection of clothes are dependent on individual choices and comfort zone and these are not decided by tradition or history, it merely is about the latest fashion trends, people and place where one lives. An individual chooses to wear certain dress on the basis of whether it looks good on them or not, and are they aligned with latest trend, this does not alter their customary values. Values are a part of perception and not outlook. For example, let us consider life of an actor/actress they are the most classy people with all type of costumes but at the end of the day the celebrate the festivities with family and do carry on their tradition. Secondly, I would like to point out that one cannot wear conventional dresses to offices or place where he/she works because these institutions have a formal dress codes to be followed, this doesn’t mean that working population don’t value their roots. The traditional dress allows a person to identify people from different area but not their history or belief. For instance a teacher cannot wear traditional clothes to school because schools have standards regarding the attire one wears which should be uniform throughout. To conclude with, Tradition and history are values that are passed on from generation to generation which does not have anything to do with the costumes of an individual and one should not confuse this with the clothing a person wears. Hence I don’t agree to this theory.