Some people say that older, more traditional buildings in cities should be preserved. Others believe that these buildings should be demolished and new ones built in their place.

Like all things, traditional and modern buildings respectively serve their distinct purposes. Currently, however, the heat is rising in the arguments about whether traditional buildings are to be maintained or disposed of to make place for new constructions. From my point of view, both sides have their legit reasonings but at the same time unjust arguments. When it comes to traditional buildings, it does not come down as a surprise at all that many wish for them to be preserved. It is because these architectures are heritages, the tales of history, and often times they hold admirable aesthetic and artistic values. They are bridges that connect generations, displaying a crucial aspect of our predecessors’ lifestyle. All of these aspects make old buildings ideal tourist attractions. Take a look at the Colosseum in Rome for example. It is a grotesque structure that enabled historians and archeologists to study the trademarks of a remarkable lost culture of human history, all the while prospering its home country, Italy, from national and international tourism income every year. Thus, by keeping traditional buildings around, we not only have access to local cultural history but also benefit financially and academically. However, it is undeniable that the existence of these obsolete and perhaps run-down buildings may do us more harm than good. This is where modern buildings come into consideration. Compared to their traditional counterpart, new and modern buildings are much more convenient, flexible, and undoubtedly safer and more secured with the application of cutting-edge innovations and high-tech appliances. As they are built from tough and sustainable materials, these buildings do not require continual maintenance, meaning the cost to keep these blocks in full function can be cut down significantly. Furthermore, the rapid growth of globalization established a solid need for more of these buildings to be constructed, as most organizations and brands cannot risk their workers’ and products’ safety relying on old buildings. That is not to mention, the abolishment of traditional buildings and construction of new ones gives way to the flourishment of numerous industries, building material provision and designing for example, and overall is a magnificent aid for an economic boost. Yet, the art, legacy, and identity of these buildings are nowhere to be found. Imagine if the Eifel Tower was taken down to be replaced by a mall complex. Does the sound of that scenario seem exhilarating to you? I think not. In short, the construction of new buildings in place of traditional ones is a logical decision, but one that would result in a loss of mankind’s spiritual richness. So, what I believe we should do is make an effort in selective preservation. Determine if a traditional building is important enough to be maintained, and clear out ones that have met their limit to welcome modern buildings on board. Letting go of the past is not easy, but in order to move forward, rational choices must be made. In conclusion, the preservation of traditional buildings and the construction of new buildings are both necessary and should be carried out harmoniously with careful management.