People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons? What are the effects of this trend?

It is common nowadays for people to devote an inadequate amount of time to their family. This essay will present the possible causes and clarify the impacts of this phenomenon. The insufficient time spent on family can be due to several reasons. Firstly, the excessive use of electronic devices are considered one of the culprits. In fact, most people these days own at least one gadget that keeps them busy regardless of the time of the day. This means the number of hours that could have been spent with their loved ones might have to be sacrificed. Secondly, the increasing workload in modern society also makes it more challenging to maintain family presence. For example, many people with a nine-to-five job, who might be struggling to deal with overtime work, can find family time a scarce commodity. Therefore, it is understandable that hectic schedules are taking away people’s quality time at home. This tendency can induce long-lasting negative effects. One impact that is worth mentioning is the lack of family connection. Evidently, a healthy relationship is built on communication and mutual understanding, which cannot be achieved without frequent gatherings. Therefore, limited family time can lead to the risk of family distancing as well as a lack of emotional support. Moreover, the detrimental impact to a child’s development should also be taken into account. As children grow up, parental guidance will help them develop a healthy mindset such as positive thinking and proper attitudes. Thus, kids with absent parents might be prone to negativity or other mental problems. In conclusion, it is the busy lifestyle and the overuse of electronics that makes family time a luxury for many. As a result, the relationships with their loved ones can be put at risk, while the children involved might be inclined to emotional issues.