Some people believe that an effective way to reduce industrial pollution is to tax the companies which cause these types of pollution. Others think that there are other ways.

Industrial pollution can be hazardous to humans and other animals living in the surroundings. One way to curbthis is to levy taxes on the corporates responsible for these. Taxing the companies that cause pollution could be an effective way to reduce industrial pollution according tosome, as it provides an indirect motivation for the companies to reduce the pollution and thus avoid paying thosetaxes. This would in turn help increase the company’s revenues and profitability. The proponents of this view alsobelieve the companies need a deterrent to act upon and are not necessarily proactive in caring for theenvironment. This could be true in the case of companies hell bent on making profits and profits alone with scantregard to the society and the environment they operate in. However, this is not always the case. There are other ways. Most of the corporates have a social responsibilityand their businesses are driven by the principle of sustainability. Sustainability is all about being aware of andadhering to factors like climate change, reducing carbon footprint, reducing pollution in a proactive manner. Thereputation and the brand name of such companies could take a colossal hit if they do not adhere to the industryor regulatory standards and they therefore do not need tax as a deterrent. Moreover, the image these corporatestry to build over a period to attract customers like millennials makes it almost mandatory to be environmentfriendly. The modern day customers are well aware of the need for preserving the environment. And thecompanies can ill afford to lose this generation of customers. I think it is imperative for companies to not wait for the authorities or governing bodies to penalise or tax them butproactively take measures to reduce the pollution levels and create a sustainable environment for the planet. Modern day customers are fastidious about the products they use and their choices are not just based on theprice and quality factors but the corporate’s reputation and image in keeping the environment safe and clean.