People in big cities prefer to live alone or in small family units instead of large family groups. Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

It is widely acknowledged that urban citizens now tend to live individually or in nuclear families rather than extended ones. In my opinion, this phenomenon brings both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, this development can be extremely positive for two main reasons. Living alone or in a nuclear family, people can have more freedom in doing what they want without disturbing other family members, especially those who are from different generations and different lifestyles. Young people, for example, prefer eating fast food and listening to loud, upbeat music while the elderly are keen on traditional meals, and soft relaxing music. Living separately would, therefore, give them opportunities to satisfy their needs and avoid conflict that often occurs within extended families, leading to a more fulfilled life. Furthermore, living in a smaller family, parents will have more time to care for their child, thereby strengthening their relationships. On the other hand, staying away from other family members would have some harmful impacts. Some people find it hard to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life taking into consideration the fact that they live away from their family members. Young people sometimes feel depressed or even develop a sense of isolation when they do not have parents or siblings beside them to help and give them advice. Living alone or in small families also discourages people from cooking and doing exercise since they do not have someone who can share the same interest. The greatest joy of life is usually found in shared experiences with family, and if staying alone cannot bring many of such experiences, that would be a negative aspect of individualism. In conclusion, it seems to me that living in a small family can have both positive and negative impacts on people's life.