local food and other regions' food

Nowadays, in many nations, citizens prefer to eat a variety of food which is unavailable in their local area. This trend has led to the fact that the majority of food consumed by them is imported from other regions. It has both positive and negative aspects to be considered, but in my perspective, the latter outweighs the former. To embark on, consuming exotic food is problematic for some reasons. The first concern is about health issues. It is undeniable that these imported foods need to be transported through millions of distance (from one country to others). They, therefore, need preservatives, the substances which are scientifically proven to be harmful to people’s health, to remain fresh and avoid being mouldy or rotten. Also, the local foods would lose their ground if these types of food are more prefered by local inhabitants. This could gradually have a negative impact on domestic agriculture as well as the nation’s economy. Notwithstanding the aforementioned downsides, I am convinced it offers more benefits. In terms of knowledge and life aspect, having the opportunity to be exposed to culinary cultures from different countries allows citizens to enrich their knowledge as well as their daily lives. Kimchi, for example, helps us to discover a new cuisine and understand more about the Korean’s custom of eating spicy food. Another major significance is that it can boost the production and creativity of domestic manufacturers. Involving in a competitive market with numerous imported products is a motivation for a nation’s producers. They need to enhance the quality and design of the products as well as manufacture new types of foods to meet the demand of consumers and protect their position in the food industry, and moreover, to maintain and even increase their market share. To summarize, despite some drawbacks of the foreign food consumption, I firmly hold the view that the negatives pale in comparison with the benefits this trend provides.